Lower Mainland: Amateur News

B.C. Golfers Prominent As PNGA Announces Player of the Year Recipients for 2012

Last Updated on Friday, 02 November 2012 10:04 Friday, 02 November 2012 09:28

altFederal Way, Wash. – The Pacific Northwest Golf Association (PNGA) has announced the Players of the Year for the 2012 championship season.

The talented group of recipients include Chris Williams of Moscow, Idaho in the Men’s category, Erynne Lee of Silverdale, Wash. in the Women’s category, Tom Brandes of Bellevue, Wash. in the Senior Men’s category, Alison Murdoch of Victoria, B.C. in the Senior Women’s category, Adam Svensson of Surrey, B.C. in the Junior Boys’ category, and Jisoo Keel of Coquitlam, B.C. in the Junior Girls’ category.

Kevin Carrigan of Victoria, B.C. was named the inaugural Men’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year, while Christina Proteau of Victoria, B.C. earned the inaugural Women’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year honor.



Horwood Claims 27th Pacific Northwest Senior Women’s Amateur Championship

Last Updated on Wednesday, 03 October 2012 10:37 Wednesday, 03 October 2012 10:24


Richland, Wash. – First round leader Holly Horwood of Vancouver, B.C. shot a final round 4-over-par 76 to win the 27th Pacific Northwest Senior Women’s Amateur Championship. 
In the 2nd Pacific Northwest Super Senior Women’s Amateur Championship, Beverly McGladery of Vancouver, B.C. cruised to victory with a final round 10-over-par 82.
Both championships are conducted by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association (PNGA) and were held concurrently at Meadow Springs Country Club in Richland, Wash.



Petersen Captures WSGA Super Senior Championship

Last Updated on Monday, 01 October 2012 10:33 Monday, 01 October 2012 10:10


courtesy Washington State Golf Association


Defending champion Tom Brandes of Bellevue, Wash. capped an outstanding championship season with a final round 3-under-par 69 at The Home Course to win the 26th Washington State Senior Men’s Amateur Championship.
In the 5th Washington State Super Senior Men’s Amateur Championship, defending champion Ron Petersen of Coquitlam, B.C. made a final round charge with a 2-over-par 74 to outlast Travis Gamble of Gig Harbor, Wash. and repeat as champion.



Victoria's Kevin Carrigan Wins Canadian Men's Mid-Amateur Championship

Last Updated on Sunday, 09 September 2012 13:17 Sunday, 09 September 2012 13:03


Kevin Carrigan of Victoria, B.C. carded a final-round 2-under par 70 to capture the 2012 Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship at Point Grey Golf & Country Club in Vancouver.

A product of the University of Texas at Arlington, Carrigan, the reigning B.C. Men’s Mid-Amateur champion, finished at 3-under par 285 for the championship, besting three-time Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur champion Dave Bunker of Woodbridge, Ont. by three strokes.



Vigna Outlasts Gatto to win 58th Pacific Northwest Junior Boys' Amateur Championship

Last Updated on Tuesday, 14 August 2012 21:50 Tuesday, 14 August 2012 21:39


Coquitlam Golfer Beats Fellow Canadian 4&2 In 36-Hole Finale In Washington

After an impressive week of championship caliber golf, No. 20 seed Kevin Vigna of Coquitlam, B.C. outlasted No. 15 seed Lucas Gatto of Burnaby, B.C., 4&2 to win the 58th Pacific Northwest Junior Boys’ Amateur Championship at Port Ludlow Golf Club in Port Ludlow, WA.

Playing against his friend and fellow-Vancouver Golf Club member, Gatto struck first in the championship match and, after a birdie on the par-4 second hole, found himself 2-up.
The lead slipped back to 1-up through six holes as the pair navigated the front nine, the tension building along the way.



Page 7 of 39