National: Canadians Worldwide / Other Tours

Tentative 2017 MJT Schedule Announced

Last Updated on Wednesday, 07 December 2016 17:28 Wednesday, 07 December 2016 06:31

altMJT’s 2017 national schedule features many first-time venues and is shaping up to be the best yet! All will be confirmed and ready for registration in early January.

Click here to view the tentative schedule.


Porsche European Open Finds A New Home In Hamburg

Last Updated on Tuesday, 06 December 2016 21:20 Tuesday, 06 December 2016 21:17

altHAMBURG, Germany — The Porsche European Open will have a new home when the European Tour returns to Germany for the tournament’s 35th edition, with Green Eagle Golf Courses near the Hansestadt Hamburg announced as the new tournament venue.

The event will be played on the North Course, one of the longest in Europe with some of the world’s best golfers competing for €2 million in prize money from July 26-30, as Hamburg hosts a prestigious European Tour event for the first time in a decade.



Victoria, B.C.’s Bear Mountain To Once Again Host The Champions Tour As 2017 Schedule Announced

Last Updated on Tuesday, 06 December 2016 21:03 Tuesday, 06 December 2016 20:46

Colin MontgomeriePONTE VEDRA BEACH, Florida (Golf Canada) — The Champions Tour announced its 2017 tournament schedule, featuring 26 official tournaments and two “Challenge Season” events.

The 23-event regular season will again highlight the Charles Schwab Cup Playoffs, which will be used to determine the season-long Charles Schwab Cup champion. The Tour will contest events in four countries and 18 states, with total prize money of $55.7 million (U.S).

Canada will once again have two Champions Tour stops. The Shaw Charity Classic will be played September 1-3 at Canyon Meadows G & Country Club in Calgary.

The Pacific Links Bear Mountain Championship will be contested at Bear Mountain Resort in Victoria, B.C. from September 15-17, 2017.



Brandon Stone Wins Alfred Dunhill Championship

Last Updated on Monday, 05 December 2016 06:18 Monday, 05 December 2016 06:13

Brandon StoneCanadian Press

MALELANE, South Africa (AP) — Brandon Stone ran away from his challengers to win the Alfred Dunhill Championship by seven shots for his second European Tour title.

Stone finished with a 5-under 67 at Leopard Creek Country Club for 22 under overall, extending his advantage over the chasers after going into the final round three shots ahead.

Stone made seven birdies and two bogeys and it was a comfortable victory in the end for the 23-year-old South African, who followed up on his maiden tour title at the South African Open at the start of the year.



Varner Wins Australian PGA Championship; Scott Finishes 3rd

Last Updated on Monday, 05 December 2016 06:05 Monday, 05 December 2016 05:55

Harold Varner IIICanadian Press

GOLD COAST, Australia (John Pye/AP) — Harold Varner III didn’t really know the protocol, so he filled the Australian PGA Championship trophy with champagne, took a sip and then shared it around.

The 26-year-old American won a title for the first time outside the U.S. mini tours when he fired nine birdies in a closing 65 to finish at 19 under, two clear of Australian journeyman Andrew Dodt and four ahead of 2013 Masters champion Adam Scott.



Page 6 of 355