The Evian Championship Makes Date Change, Increases Purse

Evian Championship

2019 Event To Bring US$4.1 million Purse, Along With A Mid-Summer Date.

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida (LPGA) — The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) announced that the purse for the 2019 Evian Championship has been raised to $4.1 million, reaffirming it as the second-largest purse on Tour. Along with the purse increase, the LPGA also announced that, effective in 2019, the tournament, held at the picturesque Evian Resort Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France, will move to a mid-summer date, with the 2019 tournament being played July 25-28.

Since becoming the fifth LPGA major championship in 2013, The Evian Championship has been at the forefront of the growth in prize money the Tour has seen in recent years. At the inaugural Evian Masters in 2000, players competed for $1.8 million, but when The Evian Championship became a major in 2013, the prize money was increased to $3.25 million and the tournament has been growing its purse ever since. 

“Since its inception as a women’s golf event, Evian has pushed the boundaries for building a golf tournament that is simply like no other,” said LPGA Commissioner Michael Whan. “Evian has built its own traditions, versus trying to copy others. Very few global brands commit to women as their most important sports relationship and are willing to consistently push the boundaries in areas like purse levels. We’re lucky to have Evian, and their out-of-the-box thinking, as a true partner that is creating something truly historical for the world of women’s golf.”

In 2017, The Evian Championship increased its purse by $400,000 for a $3.65 million purse, and then later announced an additional $200,000 increase for the upcoming 2018 tournament where players will compete for $3.85 million. The $4.1 million up for grabs in 2019 puts The Evian Championship behind only the $5 million purse of the U.S. Women’s Open as the largest on the LPGA Tour.

Much of the 2019 LPGA tournament dates are still to be determined, but The Evian Championship’s move to July sets up an exciting “Europe Swing” with the Aberdeen Standard Investments Ladies Scottish Open and the Ricoh Women’s British Open. 

“This schedule change reflects our commitment to, time and again, give priority to sporting performance at our major and sharing a unique experience with all of our audiences,” Franck Riboud, Chairman of The Evian Championship commented. “There are many things at stake for The Evian Championship. Being part of the momentum of a summertime “Europe Swing” with the top female golfers in the world in Europe. Taking advantage of the longer summer days to have greater flexibility in managing the tournament. Finally, getting the event’s summer atmosphere back, in the heart of such wonderful natural surroundings, which is of course perfect for the players and spectators, but also for our partners and their guests who benefit from an optimized public relations platform at the Evian Resort.” 

The 2018 Evian Championship will remain in its current late-summer date and be conducted Sept. 13-16. In 2017, Anna Nordqvist mounted a Sunday charge with a 5-under 66 to come from five strokes back of 36-hole leader Moriya Jutanugarn and force a playoff with Brittany Altomare. Tied at 9-under par, the pair returned to the par-4 18th, where Nordqvist made bogey to win her second major championship.

“I’m thrilled that The Evian Championship will have a larger purse next season and that we will be competing for more money in years to come,” Nordqvist said. “I’m also excited for the tournament to move to the Summer in the coming years. That will make the LPGA’s major season that much more exciting.”

All four rounds will air live on Golf Channel in 2018, with a special showing on NBC from 1-2:30 p.m. on Sunday.

The 2018 Evian Championship also serves as the culmination of the Rolex ANNIKA Major Award. Named for 10-time major champion Annika Sorenstam, the honor is bestowed on the player who, during the current LPGA season, has the most outstanding major championship record. So Yeon Ryu won the 2017 ANA Inspiration en route to capturing the Rolex ANNIKA Major Award, joining Michelle Wie (2014), Inbee Park (2015) and Lydia Ko (2016) as award recipients.