Parnevik Penalized For NOT Taking A Mulligan, Thanks To Bizarre Rule Loophole
- Category: Inside Golf
- Published: 2019-10-17
By DYLAN DETHIER, Golf.com
Anybody who has ever played golf has seen and taken his or her fair share of mulligans, rules sticklers be damned. But on Sunday, Jesper Parnevik broke the rules when he didn’t take a mulligan — stumping rules officials in the process. That’s far more impressive.
Here’s how it went down. During the final round of the PGA Tour Champions’ SAS Championship at Prestonwood Golf Club in North Carolina, Parnevik was cleaning up a short bogey putt when the ball lipped out and struck him in the foot. Parnevik tapped in the ensuing putt for what he figured was a double bogey. Only, it wasn’t.