Rules Corner: Are You Entitled To Free Relief On A Sandy Cart Path?


While most golfers are aware that a ball that comes to rest on a cart path is entitled to free relief, many don’t know the reasoning behind the rule.

In fact, it’s the material the cart path is composed of that dictates the relief, as opposed to the mere fact that it’s a cart path. And, your playing options differ depending on what kind of cart path you’re dealing with.

Under Rule 16, you are entitled to free relief from an immovable obstruction if your ball, stance or area of intended swing is affected by the immovable obstruction.